Home / Teaching

Philippians sermon series


Choosing Joy: A Series in Philippians

“Joy is the infallible sign of the presence of God.”
― Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

“…’joy’ in Philippians is a defiant ‘Nevertheless!’ that Paul sets like a full stop against the Philippians’ anxiety…”
― Karl Barth

For six weeks in September and October, five different preachers from the Cathedral will be preaching through Paul’s letter to the Philippians, mostly following the church lectionary. The series is titled ‘Choosing Joy’, and we will study together how it is that we can find true joy even in the midst of the most difficult circumstances.

Join us for the whole series, and catch up online here if you miss a week.

Sept 14 – 1:1-18 [Listen here: Joy through suffering – Peet Dickinson]
Sept 21 – 1:19-30 [Listen here: Joy through faith – Ryan Thompson]
Sept 28 – 2:1-18  [Listen here: Joy through obedience – Jonathan Bennett]
October 5 – 3:1-11  [Listen here: Joy through grace – David Adams]
October 12 – 3:12-21 [Listen here: Joy through hope – Samuel Kennedy]

October 19 – 4:1-23  [Listen here: Joy through contentment – Peet Dickinson]

Want to learn more about the context of Philippians concerning when it was written? Click on the image below.

Paul's Chronology Chart.01

The Marks of a Christian Series

IMG_0466“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” Col. 3:12-14

This summer we took six weeks at the Cathedral to look at what are the marks of a Christian, i.e. what are the characteristics that you would expect to find in someone who chooses to follow Jesus. Using Colossians 3:1-7, five preachers from the Cathedral, clergy and laymen, unpacked the six marks that Paul lays out in this particular passage: compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience, and forgiveness. The result was a well formed series that proved to be helpful to many. Therefore we have gathered together the series on one page in case those who could not be here for one, or any, of these sermons might be able to listen to them.